Heeeey Juice, No Need to Cry…

Day two of the Juice Cleanse, and I think it’s going well. When I drink the usually green, sometimes orange, often dreary-colored concoction, I feel relieved, satisfied and throughly energized. My hunger subsides, my motivation goes into 5th gear and my kitchen is the cleanest its been yet. The energy is great. I have my slumps and times during the day that  I feel the need to nourish my body, or sleep, but I’m pretty sure sleeping on the job is not a good thing. Some people have inquired on what I am doing so I thought I’d write about it.

I bought a Jack Lelanne’s Power Juicer a few years ago and have utilized it well. Never did I think I would ever drink my meals and drown my snack times in water. Well, that isn’t so true. For many years I put myself through a rigorous spring incorporating the Master Cleanse into my life. I felt great after, but horrible during, especially during the last couple of years of doing it. It just began to take a negative toll on my body. Therefore, out with the old and in with the new. Let’s Celebrate Good Juice!

I, like many, have gained a few pounds over the years and have found that doing a cleanse of sorts, such as a juice diet cleanse, is not only good for the body, but it’s good for the mind and spirit as well. I find clarity during my cleanses. Anyone who knows me, knows I need as much as that as I can get. I often have heavy thought generation and even stumble upon some epiphanies every now and then. I guess I could dwell instead on the fact that I only have X amount of days left of the fast or that I can’t wait to eat a cheeseburger, which I crave often on these cleanses, but I would rather allow my mind to wonder to places I have somehow shut off in my other, more dull, state of being.

You may wonder what I juice. Everything from carrots with apples and a chunk of fresh ginger to swiss chard, lemon, potato, onion, key limes, a golden beet, with a fresh apple. The juicer I have cannot juice everything as not all things, such as bananas and avocados, have juice. I guess I do miss out on that, but nearly everything is juice-able. greens are my favorite, sweetened with an apple. Careful not to juice too many fruits high in the natural sugars. This tends to affect your hunger pains, bringing them into play much earlier than expected. Balance your “green” taste with sour fruits. I use lemon and key limes many times. It somehow kills the potency of the leafy greens and roots. Although the green flavor dies a bit, none of the nutrients will.

Never having incorporated a full juice diet, I was curious how my lunch would go at work. No big deal. After I juice my breakfast, I juice my lunch and store it in the tightest sealed container I have. The container looks like a bombshell, a small one. I got this thermos at a thrift store in Juneau, Alaska, and it has been on more trips and has been so good to me. It was meant to be. Anyways, I know there are lots of nutrients lost in waiting, not drinking the juice immediately. That’s the price I have to pay to juice during the day. The best is coming home and cutting up fruits and veggies, juicing them, pulling the glass out from under the spout and drinking a glass of wholesome goodness. The worst thing I guess is rinsing the machine components each time. Eh, no big deal. What can you do?

That’s all for now. I’ll try to give more updates as the cleanse continues. Blessings.

About Steven E. Bryner II

An aspiring success story in the making...
This entry was posted in The Treasure Chest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment